Press Release


 January 13, 2023

 On Thursday, January 19, 2023, at 7:00 p.m., SILEC (Southwestern Illinois Law Enforcement Commission) and SIPCA (Southern Illinois Police Chiefs’ Association) will co-host their 30th Annual SILEC/SIPCA Awards Banquet to be held at the Four Points Conference Center, Fairview Heights, Il (The Awards Ceremony will start at 8:00pm).

The purpose of this Awards Program is to provide recognition to the men and women who work in the profession of law enforcement and who have made significant contributions toward enhancing the profession of law enforcement. We are also recognizing individual citizens who have displayed acts of good citizenship by assisting law enforcement agencies in our seven counties of Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair and Washington.

Our most prestigious awards will be presented to the following individuals

Medal of Valor

Richard Dale

Steven Frierdich

Steven Pyrdeck

Timothy Severine

Matthew Schneider

Brent Beltz

Olympian Award

Kevin Schmoll – SIU-E Police Department

William Clay III – Belleville Police Department

“Lanxon Public Service Award”

Mayor Patty Gregory, City of Belleville, Il

Blue Light Award

Jerry Massey, Belleville Police Department

SILEC/SIPCA Presidential Award will be presented to David Hayes, retired Director of the Southwestern Illinois Law Enforcement Commission and to Pastors Hal and Pam Santos of Grace Church, Fairview Heights, Il

Other awards will be presented to law enforcement professionals and citizens for their contributions in enhancing law enforcement efforts in Southwestern Illinois. These awards and recipients are as follows:

Law Enforcement Certificate of Merit

Sean Joy

Kyle Bade (getting 2 Cert of Merit Awards)

Aaron Keeney

Phil Koch

Dusty Kallal

Sam Parsons

Cameron Ward

Andrew Brandt

Zane Wallace

Tyler Schwarz

David Ray

Griffin Diecker + K-9 Szoti

Shawn O’Dell

Kyle Wilson

Zach Greene

Matthew Inlow

Zach Adrian

Jon Friederich

Alicia Hawthorne

Clay Mason

Aaron Nyman

Ryan Teschendorf

Drew Rutter

Christopher Flynn

Outstanding Citizen

Dennis Streif

Life Saving Award

Lauren Reid

Woodrow Hall

Steve Howe

Justin Krausz

Dylan Madron

Adam Romero

Alana Shelley

Jacob Hoffman

Joel Boevine

Telecommunicator Award

Marissa Lovatto

Tiarra McAllister

Unit Award

Belleville/St. Clair Regional SRT

Shane Brown

Aaron Hackleman

William Casto

Beau Barfield

Cody James

Jason Davis

Paul Anderson

Eric Tracy

Christopher Hoernis

Matthew Maue

Michael Kuhl

Metro East SWAT

Jason Wolf

Scott Rose

Joel Bromaghim

Patrick Hulsey

Cody Wiley

Tony Rogers

Colton Faure

Jacob Stewart

Brett Holliday

Jeffrey Thornton

Doug Hubbard

Michael Adamson

Eric Waszak

St. Clair County Teen Court

Annette Eckert

Barbara Cempura

Garen Vartanian

Jim Gomric

Brendan Kelly

Bernadette Schrempp

Tamara Vaughn-Walker

Zabelle Vartanian

Melissa Richter

Neal Holliday

Richard Watson

Mark Eichenlaub


Also recognized this evening will be the new Board of Officers of the Southern Illinois Police Chief’s Association.  The following officers will be sworn in:

  1. Chief Richard Wittenauer, Shiloh Police Department


  1. Chief Tom Coppotelli, Caseyville Police Department

Vice President

  1. Chief Kirk Brueggemann, O’Fallon Police Department


  1. Chief Mike Fillback, Edwardsville Police Department


 Additional information can be obtained by calling

Director Scott Williams at 618/277-1550 or e-mail: office@si

*Awardee narratives are available upon request  






Fairview Heights Police Department